Bank holidays April 2022: Banks to remain close upto 15 days

bank holidays

Bank holidays: The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) publishes a holiday calendar every year that specifies when banks in India will be closed. According to which, banks will be closed for 15 days in April 2022. Nine of the fifteen are according to the RBI holiday calendar, while the remaining are weekends — Saturdays and Sundays. Bank customers should be aware that not all banks will be closed for the entire 15-day period in all states or regions of the country, as holidays and festivals vary by state.

Here is a list of bank holidays for the month of April 2022

April 1 (Friday): Due to the early closing of accounts, banks will be closed. Except for Aizawl, Chandigarh, Shillong, and Shimla, banks will be closed in almost every part of the country

April 2 (Saturday): Gudi Padwa/Ugadi Festival/1st Navratra/Telugu New Year’s Day/Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba). Banks in Karnataka, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Manipur, Jammu, Goa, and Jammu-Kashmir will be closed.

April 3: Sunday

April 4 (Monday): Banks will be closed in Jharkhand on the occasion of Sarhul.

Read Also: GST collections hit all-time high in March 2022

April 5 (Tuesday): Banks will be closed in Telangana on the occasion of Babu Jagjivan Ram’s birthday.

April 9(Saturday): Second Saturday Bank Holiday

April 10: Sunday

April 14 (Thursday): Banks will be closed in all states except for Meghalaya and Himachal Pradesh on the occasion of Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti/ Mahavir Jayanti /Baisakhi/ Vaisakhi/ Tamil New Year’s Day/ Cheiraoba/ Biju Festival/ Bohag Bihu.

April 15 (Friday): Banks will be closed except Rajasthan, Jammu and Srinagar due to Good Friday/Bengali New Year’s Day (Nababarsha) /Himachal Day /Vishu/Bohag Bihu.

April 16 (Saturday): Banks will be closed in Assam on the occasion of Bohag Bihu.

April 17: Sunday

April 19 (Wednesday): Banks will be closed in Jammu and Srinagar on the occasion of Shab-I-Qadr/Jumat-ul-Vida.

Read Also: GST Weekly Update: Goods and Service Tax April 2022

April 21 (Thursday): Banks will be closed in Tripura on account of Garia Puja.

April 23: Second Saturday

April 24: Sunday

All Banks are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month. And on every Sunday of the month.

Read Also: Income tax department notifies new ITR forms for FY23

However, you must note that the banks will NOT be closed for 13 days in all states or regions. This is the total number of days when banks in different parts of the country will remain closed for state-observed holidays. Thus, it must be noted that the bank holidays vary in various states as well not observed by all the banking companies. Banking holidays also depend on the festivals being observed in specific states or notification of specific occasions in those states.

Disclaimer:The article or blog or post (by whatever name) in this website is based on the writer’s personal views and interpretation of Act. The writer does not accept any liabilities for any loss or damage of any kind arising out of information and for any actions taken in reliance thereon. 
Also, and its members do not accept any liability, obligation or responsibility for author’s article and understanding of user.

For Collaborating with us-

Tags: blog

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed